IEEE Ethernet Standards

This page lists some IEEE standards.

IEEE 802.1

802.1D (1993) MAC Layer Bridges (ISO 10038)

802.1p Quality of Service and Multicast support in 802.1Q (publsihed as a part of 802.1D)

802.1Q VLAN tags (publsihed as a part of 802.1D)

802.1G Remote Bridges Carrier Ethernet / Double Tagging (also known as "Q-in-Q")


A list of useful Supplements to the IEEE 802 Standards:

802.3 (1985) Base Standard (10B5)

802.3a (1992) 10B2 Ethernet over thin coaxial cable

802.3b (1985) Broadband Ethernet over Coaxial TV Cable (now seldom used)

802.3c (1985) Improved Definition of a Repeater

802.3d (1987) Definition of Ethernet for Fibre (10BFOIRL) (now seldom used)

802.3e (1987) 1Base5 or StarLAN (now seldom used)

802.3h (1991) Layer Management

802.3i (1990) 10BaseT, Ethernet over CAT-5 Unshielded Twisted Pair (UTP, 10BT)

802.3j (1993) Ethernet over Fibre (10BF)

802.3p/q (1993) Managed Objects

802.3u (1995) Fast Ethernet (100BTX, 100BT4, 100BFX)

802.3x (1998) Full Duplex (FDX) operation in a switched LAN

802.3y (1998) Fast Ethernet (100BT2 over low quality UTP)

802.3z Gigabit Ethernet over Fibre

802.3aa Gigabit Ethernet Maintainance

802.3ab Gigabit Ethernet over UTP CAT-5

802.3ac Larger Frame Size to Sccomodate Ethernet VLAN Tags (802.1Q)

802.3ad Ethernet Link Aggregation

802.3ae 10 Gbps Ethernet

802.3af Power over Ethernet (PoE) (15.4W, - 44V, 350mA) see also 802.3ar

802.3at Power over Ethernet (PoE) (25.5W)

802.3ba 40 Gbps Ethernet

Gorry Fairhurst - Date: 26/09/2020 EG3567